Gloved without the bat in hand - NOTOUT

With just 3 runs away from what would have been an incredible victory, Kasprowicz gloved a snorter off Harmison and Geraint Jones (shoving aside all his mental demons in the process)took a good tumbling catch down the legside. Billy Bowden's crooked finger went up and the packed Edgbaston crowd erupted. The curtains had been drawn on what was one of the most entertaining test matches in the history of Ashes. But spare a thought for Kasper, who went down on his knees as soon as the wicket was upheld. He would be even more devastated when he learns that he was technically "notout". Kasper took his eyes of the ball, tried to fend it (by taking his right hand off the handle of the bat), the ball brushed his right glove which was off the handle and then carried to the keeper. Now the rule book says that this is not out. For a gloved catch to be legitimate, the glove should be in touch with some part of the willow, at the point of contact with the ball. A very small technicality, which no one realized until some purists in the commentary box started studying the replays more closely. It would have been a tough task for Billy Bowden to have picked something like that. So much for technicalities.

Labels: , ,

« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »

» Post a Comment