Damned if I do.. damned if I don't

Courtesy: Cricinfo
Pakistan Vs England - 2nd Test at Faisalabad, Nov 2005
95.1 Harmison to Inzamam-ul-Haq, no run, driven back to bowler, Harmison picked up and hit the stumps direct, shut for runout, tv called, after many replay, Umpires gave the decision in favour of the England team as Inzamam back-foot was in the air when ball hit the stumps, soft dismissal!

Pakistan Vs India - 1st ODI at Peshawar, Feb 2006
43.2 Sreesanth to Inzamam-ul-Haq, no run, OUT - good length delivery, driven down to mid-off, Inzi is way down the track, Raina moving in picks it up and tries to run him out at the striker's end but Inzi defends the throw with his bat and he is given out obstructing the field!

Inzi's reaction after the Peshawar game - "I can't understand the rule, because in Faisalabad I left the ball and was out and this time I hit the ball and was out."

As per the law, Inzi was not out in Faisalabad and per the same law he was out in Peshawar. Simon Taufel got it wrong once and he is too good an umpire to get it wrong the second time. But poor Inzi.. He looked like one real confused soul when he walked back after being told by the umpires that he was out.

Labels: , ,

« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »

» Post a Comment