Cricket Oscars 2006

Player of the Year, Test Player of the Year: Ricky Ponting
Ricky was my pick. He did have a great year

ODI Player of the Year:
Michael Hussey.
Yuvraj Singh was my pick. Hussey scored 769 runs at 64.08. But Yuvraj scored almost double the number of runs (1496) during the same period at an equally impressive average (57.53).

Captain of the Year:
Mahela Jayawardene.
Ricky was my pick. But I'm happy for Mahela. And I'm glad that the adjudicators didn't pick the winner just by looking at the highest winning percentage. Ricky had quite a few rifts with the umpires on the field, while Mahela conducted himself very well both on and off the field.

Emerging Player of the Year: Ian Bell.
Asif was my pick. But after the doping scandal, there was little chance that Gavaskar and co. would do the politically incorrect thing. Without Asif in the fray, Bell was the obvious choice.

Women's Player of the Year: Karen Rolton.
Anjum Chopra was my pick. Guess, I was a bit biased. The women play so little cricket that it isn't always easy to determine who the best.

Umpire of the Year:
Simon Taufel
I picked Taufel. Hat-trick for him - won it for the third consecutive time. For someone who sets very high standards, he did make a few mistakes this year. But, I guess the others committed more.

Spirit of Cricket Award: England
It couldn't be Pakistan. It couldn't be Australia. It could have been New Zealand. The adjudicators somehow seem to have found the English team to be the least controversial of them all.

World Test Team of the Year: Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Ricky Ponting, Rahul Dravid (capt), Mohammed Yousuf, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Andrew Flintoff, Shane Warne, Makhaya Ntini, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath. 12th man: Brett Lee.

6 Aussies, 2 Sri Lankans, 1 Indian, 1 Pakistani, 1 South African and 1 Englishman. Dravid gets to lead. Mahela Jayawardene and Younis Khan miss out from being a part of the star-studded middle order. Lee (67 wkts) did better than McGrath (34 wkts) last season, but has to make way for his senior partner. Murali and Warne accounted for more than 200 wickets between them last season and any team facing that lineup would seriously think of forfeiting the game without playing.

World ODI Team of the Year: Adam Gilchrist (wkt), MS Dhoni, Ricky Ponting, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Yuvraj Singh, Michael Hussey, Andrew Flintoff, Irfan Pathan, Brett Lee, Shane Bond, Muttiah Muralitharan. 12th man: Andrew Symonds.

5 Aussies, 3 Indians, 2 Sri Lankans, 1 Englishman and 1 Kiwi. Mahela gets to be the captain. Gilchrist and Dhoni are the openers - amazing pair of wicket-keeper batsmen.Sangakkara would feel bad for not making into the squad after scoring 1756 runs last season - but you can't just pack the whole team with wicket-keepers. Gilchrist is the keeper while Dhoni gets to play as a pure batsman. Not bad for someone who did not feature in the originial list of 17 nominees for the "ODI Player of the Year" award. Some would argue that Irfan doesn't deserve to be in that list, but he did have a great season last year - picking up 58 wickets at 21.93 and also scoring 500+ runs at 28.57.

Pix Credit: Getty Images [Persons seen - Urmila Matondkar, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, A dancer, Preity Zinta, Simon Taufel, Karen Rolton, Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Daniel Vettori, Shane Bond and Sachin Tendulkar]

Labels: , , , , , , , ,

« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »

Anonymous Wayne 5:42 AM

A good call for Ian Bell, I'm surprised, and pleased for him!    

» Post a Comment